Biscuit-and-apple perfection, no less.

It's not a charlotte, and it never will be. Today's apple pie is a soft vanilla sponge biscuit with a top made from delicate sweet and sour apples in a cinnamon-lemon marinade. And maybe it sounds way too difficult, but in fact everything is super easy. Minimum ingredients, maximum taste. Let's go.

See the cut? It's perfect!

What apples to use for apple pie

As a great apples admirer, I tried many varieties from super sweet to those extremly acidic. All are delicious, but not all work well in pies. Some are harsh, others are ready earlier then the pei itself. If possible, take Granny Smith apples. There is no other kind that would be better for apple pies. A bright sour taste and the ability to acquire an ideal consistency under the influence of temperature - these are the strengths of this variety.

If you don't like Granny Smith, use an alternative. Swee Tango or Golden. They are not the same as GS but can be fine in pies too. They are also juicy which is a good thing.

Try to give preference to the sour or sweet and sour varieties. They are always much better combined with a sweet biscuit dough, adding a bright taste to the cake. If you still chose sweet apples, squeeze out some lemon juice. Lime will work for this purpose too.

Perfect with coffee and/or black tea

How to make an apple pie

Unlike the classic charlotte, where as ingredients we use only apples, flour, sugar and eggs, here we add butter and spices. The cooking process will also be different. Better use a mixer, blender or planetary mixer, if you have one. These kitchen assistants will easily make the butter up to the required fluffy consistency, they are also indispensable when you start connecting eggs and butter. If you want to use your bare hands, you'll have to work very hard.

Ruddy handsome!

Now about flour. I always have a pack of rice or gluten-free mixture. Even a small amount of such flour makes the dough much more magnificent, crumbly, adds a barely noticeable pleasant granularity. Calm down! You can do without it, the taste does not suffer at all. But if you suddenly decide to conduct a culinary experiment, I promise you will not regret it.

Now let's talk about spices. Cinnamon and cardamom are simply irreplaceable for apples. These two wonderful spices will give an incredibly mouth-watering scent that will remind you of Christmas. It's always great to grind the seasonings by yourself in a coffee grinder or a mortar. This way there will be more essential oils and the smell will be more intense, more luxurious, more appetizing. You can also use ground spices. Now here is the recipe!

And how it smells! Apples and cinnamon are created for each other!

Бисквитно-яблочное совершенство, никак не меньше.

Это не шарлотка и никогда ей не будет. Сегодняшний яблочный пирог представляет собой мягкий ванильный спондж-бисквит с топом из нежных кисло-сладких яблок в корично-лимонном маринаде. И может быть звучит это заумно и сложно, но на деле все элементарно. Минимум ингредиентов, максимум вкуса. Поехали.

По разрезу видно, что это не кекс, а пирог

Какие яблоки взять для яблочного пирога

Как большой ценитель яблок, я перепробовала множество сортов от супер сладких до тех, что называют «вырви глаз». Все вкусные, но не все хорошо работают в пирогах. Одни жестковаты, другие уже расползаются, а корж еще не готов. Если есть возможность, берите антоновку. Нет другого такого сорта, который подходил бы лучше для яблочных пирогов. Яркий кислый вкус и способность приобретать идеальную консистенцию под воздействием температуры – вот сильные стороны этого сорта.

Сезон антоновки короткий. Так что предложу альтернативу в виде Грэнни Смит и Симиренко. Если вдруг не в курсе, это те самые красивые ярко-зеленые яблоки в крапинку, что лежат зимой на всех прилавках. Они тоже сочные, кислые и хороши в пирогах.

Старайтесь отдавать предпочтение именно кислым или кисло-сладким сортам. Они всегда намного лучше сочетаются со сладким бисквитным тестом, добавляя пирогу яркий вкусовой акцент. Если все же выбрали сладкие яблоки, выжмите лимонного сока. Лайм тоже сработает.

Отлично гармонирует с кофе и черным чаем

Как приготовить яблочный пирог

В отличие от классической шарлотки, где из ингредиентов только яблоки, мука, сахар и яйца, здесь мы добавим сливочное масло и пряности. Процесс приготовления тоже будет отличаться. Скажу сразу, запаситесь миксером, блендером или планетарным миксером, если таковой есть. Эти кухонные помощники без труда взобьют сливочное масло до необходимой воздушной консистенции, они же незаменимы для соединения яиц и масла. Голыми руками придется очень потрудиться.

Румяный красавец

Теперь о муке. У меня всегда есть пачка рисовой или безглютеновой смеси. Даже небольшое количество такой муки делает тесто намного более пышным, рассыпчатым, прибавляет еле заметную приятную зернистость. Спокойно! Можно обойтись и без нее, вкус нисколько не пострадает. Но если вдруг решите провести кулинарный эксперимент, обещаю, не пожалеете.

Теперь поговорим о пряностях. К яблоками просто необходимы корица и кардамон. Две эти замечательные специи придадут невероятно аппетитный аромат, который напомнит о рождестве. Всегда здорово перемалывать приправы самостоятельно в кофемолке или ступке. Так в них останется больше эфирных масел, а значит, запах будет интенсивнее, роскошнее, аппетитнее. В крайнем случае, возьмите свежий пакетик молотых пряностей. Теперь за дело!

А как он пахнет! Яблоки и корица созданы друг для друга!