And at first glance (or a bite) you can’t say that this dish does not contain any dairy products.

Recently, I began to like to experiment with products, to find a worthy replacement for the usual ingredients of animal origin. Today I suggest cooking orzo in a creamy sauce made from cashews, garlic and fresh basil.

What is orzo

Orzo (also known as rinzoni) is a type of Italian pasta. Small, in the form of barley or large rice. Hence the name it. orzo, which means in translation “perlovka”. It is made, as well as all paste, from firm grades of wheat. Used in salads, as a side dish to main dishes and in soups. When I first tried orzo, I could not even imagine that it was actually pasta. I wondered for a long time what cereal the dish was made of.

Brewed orzo no less than 8-10 minutes. After cooking, it retains its shape well, easily absorbed by the flavors and juices of sauces. You can find in any large supermarket.

How to cook vegan cream sauce

Many dairy substitute products are made from soy. But for my taste, they are all the same, whatever they were flavored or flavored. Therefore, I turned to another product. Cashew nuts.

From cashew nuts soaked for a day in clear water, wonderful vegetable milk is obtained. They can be the basis for vegan cheese and curd. And they can be used as a substitute for cream.

During the day, cashews in water become very soft, they are easy to process with a blender into a homogeneous white mass. Neutral, nuts take well any spices. And taste? The taste is very delicate, creamy. Ready to try?

Орзо в потрясающем сливочном соусе для веганов

А с первого взгляда (или укуса) и не скажешь, что данное блюдо не содержит никаких молочных продуктов

С недавнего времени мне стало нравиться экспериментировать с продуктами, находить достойную замену привычным ингредиентам животного происхождения. Сегодня предлагаю приготовить орзо в сливочном соусе из кешью, чеснока и свежего базилика.

Что такое орзо

Орзо (они же ринзони) – разновидность итальянской пасты. Мелкая, по форме как ячмень или крупный рис. Отсюда и название it. orzo, что означает в переводе “перловка”. Изготавливается, как и вся паста, из твердых сортов пшеницы. Используется в салатах, в качестве гарнира к основным блюдам и в супах. Когда я впервые попробовала орзо, даже представить не могла, что это на самом деле паста. Долго гадала, из какой крупы сделано блюдо.

Варится орзо не менее 8-10 минут. После варки хорошо сохраняет форму, легко напитывается ароматами и соками соусов. Найти можно в любом крупном супермаркете.

Как готовить веганский сливочный соус

Многие заменители молочных продуктов делают из сои. Но на мой вкус они все одинаковые, чем бы их не приправляли или ароматизировали. Поэтому я обратилась к другому продукту. Орехам кешью.

Из замоченных на сутки в чистой воде орехов кешью получается замечательное растительное молоко. Они могут стать основой для веганского сыра и творога. А еще их можно использовать в качестве заменителя сливок.

За сутки в воде кешью становятся очень мягкими, их легко переработать при помощи блендера в однородную белоснежную массу. Нейтральные, орехи хорошо принимают любые специи. А вкус? Вкус очень нежный, сливочный. Готовы попробовать?