Fast food does not always have to be harmful.

Yes, it can be overcooked chicken, french fries in butter, mayonnaise, etc., which will make your sugar fly to the skies and give an unwanted weight gain. Or maybe homemade gyros with pita bran, baked potatoes and chicken, fresh vegetables and a light tzatziki sauce based on Greek yogurt.

Greek street food “Gyros”

I'm a fan of gyros. I tried different on different Greek islands and never tastes were identical. This is surprising, because the composition included wheat bread, tomatoes, minced meat, potatoes, red onions, greens, and classic tzatziki sauce made from thick Greek yogurt.

The best gyros was found in Crete in a small inconspicuous restaurant, where only locals came in and went out with a large package. An elderly chef cooked a bird on the coals very cleverly. The meat just melted in the mouth, especially when combined with baked potatoes, fresh vegetables and gravy. And everything seems to be like everyone else. Nothing new. The price of some 2 euro per serving. But how did he manage to put in just as much as you need for you to feel each ingredient and enjoy it. After the first time we went to him all week. Attempts to “change” have never been successful.

Gyros recipe

The gyros themselves prepare quickly, but the components require preparation. Everything is clear with raw vegetables, they just need to be cut as you like. I usually cut tomatoes into circles, and onions into half rings.

Potatoes will bake according to the recipe Country style potatoes with herbs and spices. Now the season of the young potato is just beginning, so you can not peel the skin - just wash it thoroughly with a brush and cut into slices. The baking time will be 40-60 minutes, depending on the size of the slices and the power of your oven.

Chicken (you can turkey or pork, if you like) cook as you like. You can bake pieces of meat in the oven, and you can chop and fry in a pan. It all depends on how much time you want to spend at the stove.

For tzatziki sauce, you need fresh cucumber, Greek yogurt, parsley or cilantro, a drop of white wine vinegar and lemon juice. Cucumber can be grated or finely chopped, but do not forget to squeeze the juice, otherwise the sauce will be too thin or tilted.

Фаст-фуд не всегда должен быть чем-то вредным.

Да, это может быть пережаренная курица, картошка-фри в масле, майонез и прочее, что заставит ваш сахар взлететь до небес и подарит нежелательную прибавку к весу. А может быть домашний гирос с питой с отрубями, печеным картофелем и курицей, свежими овощами и легким соусом цацики на основе греческого йогурта.

Греческий стрит-фуд “Гирос”

Я фанат гироса. Перепробовала разный на разных греческих островах и ни разу вкусы не были идентичны. Это удивительно, ведь в составе везде была пшеничная лепешка, томаты, рубленное мясо, картофель, красный лук, зелень и классический соус цацики из густого греческого йогурта.

Лучший гирос нашелся на Крите в маленьком неприметном ресторанчике, куда заходили только местные и выходили с большим свертком. Пожилой повар очень ловко готовил птицу на углях. Мясо просто таяло во рту, особенно в сочетании с печеным картофелем, свежими овощами и соусом. И вроде бы все было как у всех. Ничего нового. Цена каких-то 2 евро за порцию. Но как же ему удавалось положить всего ровно столько, сколько надо, чтобы ты прочувствовал каждый ингредиент и получил удовольствие. После первого раза мы ходили к нему всю неделю. Попытки “изменить” ни разу не увенчались успехом.

Рецепт гироса

Сам гирос готовится быстро, но компоненты требуют подготовки. С сырыми овощами все понятно, их нужно просто порезать как нравится. Я обычно нарезаю томаты кружочками, а лук полукольцами.

Картофель будем запекать по рецепту Картофеля по-деревенски с травами и специями. Сейчас как раз начинается сезон молодой картошки, так что можно не чистить кожуру — достаточно тщательно помыть со щеткой и нарезать дольками. Время запекания составит минут 40-60 в зависимости от размера долек и мощности вашей духовки.

Курицу (можно индейку или свинину, если угодно) готовьте как нравится. Можно запечь кусочки мяса в духовке, а можно мелко порезать и обжарить на сковороде. Все зависит от того, сколько времени вы хотите провести у плиты.

Для соуса цацики понадобится свежий огурец, греческий йогурт, зелень петрушки или кинзы, капля белого винного уксуса и сок лимона. Огурец можно натереть на терке или мелко порезать, но не забудьте отжать сок, иначе соус будет слишком жидким или откинется.