Let's talk about vitamin D: who needs it, why, why it should be taken and in what form

Vitamin D deficiency increases the risk of depression, cardiovascular diseases, type II diabetes, respiratory infections and problems with reproductive system. And this is not to mention the fact that vitamin D plays a very important role in metabolic processes in the body.

One of the most important functions of D is the absorption of calcium and the regulation of its normal level in blood plasma by removing excess.

Fortezza in Rethymnon
In the summer you need to actively compensate for the deficiency of vitamin D

Recommended doses of vitamin D

You will find vitamin D for sale in two dosage designations: International Units (International Units (IU)) and micrograms (micrograms (mcg)). Both mean the amount per dose. To convert units to micrograms you need to divide it into 40.

Experts at Boston Medical University It is believed that the recommended daily dose for maintaining health is from 1000 to 2000 units (or 25-50 µg) of vitamin D in the form of D3.

The standard dose recommended by therapists is:

  • For teens and adults, 500-600 units (15 mcg) / day
  • For elderly 800 units (20 µg) / day

At the same time, the maximum allowable daily intake of dietary supplements (bio-active supplements) can not exceed 4000 units (100 µg). If in doubt about how much you need, it’s best to go to a therapist. It will help to calculate the most appropriate dose, especially if you are pregnant or nursing.

Sources of Vitamin D

There is a whole 3 main source of vitamin D: the sun, food and active food supplements or dietary supplements. Let's take a closer look at each of them.

  1. Sun: our bodies can use the sun's rays (especially ultraviolet) to convert the inactive form of vitamin D to active D3. But this happens only in case of contact with bare skin.
    But do not forget that:

    • In different regions of the world, the sun is quite active enough to fill in vitamin D deficiency. Those who live closer to the equator have enough 10-15 minutes in the sun per day to get the amount of vitamin D3 equivalent to 15 000 units or 375 µg of supplements. In Russia, for example, the sun is active only in the summer months plus part of May and September. It is during this period that you need to catch the rays with all your might in order to more or less fill the deficit. In the spring and autumn, the angle of incidence of the rays is insufficient. there is data by the amount of vitamin D3, which can be obtained in the summer in countries located approximately at the same latitude as Russia. Then the maximum dose of D3 per 30 minutes in the sun can be up to 1000 units.

    • Ultraviolet rays are dangerous to the skin. To get vitamin D you need bare skin without a protective cream, not covered with a cloth. And this is a risk.

    • Skin color matters. The darker, the less efficiently the body converts vitamin D from inactive to active form. Therefore, dark ones will have to spend more time in the sun.

    • Age is affected. Unfortunately with age, the body slowly and slowly turns the inactive form of D3 into an active

  2. Food: Although animal products, such as milk, egg yolks and some fish, contain vitamin D, they do not offer it in quantities sufficient to meet the recommended daily needs. This is also true for plant sources.

  3. Supplements: in Russia, we can get vitamin D with the sun only 4-4,5 of the month, and in the remaining 8 you should take special supplements, at least in cycles. Contact your general practitioner for the appropriate dosage.

Vitamin D Supplements

In pharmacies, you will find both pure vitamin D3 in the form of tablets, chewable tablets or drops, as well as dietary supplements calcium + D3. If you do not have a calcium deficiency, if you consume enough foods that contain it, you should probably choose pure D3.

The difference between the digestibility of the vitamin depending on the form (liquid or solid) was not detected. So just choose what you see fit.

D3 today is included in most vitamin complexes. If you are already taking multivitamins, check the dosage, so as not to overdo it.

Finally, it is important to remember that taking too much vitamin D in the form of supplements can lead to the absorption of excessive amounts of calcium. Over the course of several weeks or months, this can lead to calcium deposits in the arteries, thereby strengthening them. This may increase the risk of cardiovascular problems. However, this applies only to food additives. The intense exposure to sunlight has not demonstrated this effect.

Все, что вам нужно знать про Витамин D

Поговорим про витамин D: кому он нужен, зачем, почему его стоит принимать и в каком виде

Недостаток витамина D повышает риск возникновения депрессий, сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний, диабета II типа, респираторных инфекций и проблем с репродуктивной системой. И это не говоря о том, что витамин D играет очень важную роль в обменных процессах в организме.

Одна из важнейших функций D — усвоение кальция и регулирование его нормального уровня в плазме крови путем выведения лишнего.

Фортецца в Ретимно
Летом нужно активно восполнять дефицит витамина D

Рекомендованные дозы витамина D

В продаже вы встретите витамин D в двух вариантах обозначения дозировки: Международные единицы (International Units (IU)) и микрограммы (micrograms (mcg)). Оба означают количество в одной дозе. Чтобы перевести единицы в микрограммы нужно разделить на 40.

Эксперты Бостонского медицинского университета считают, что рекомендованная суточная доза для поддержания здоровья составляет от 1000 до 2000 единиц (или 25-50 мкг) витамина D в форме D3.

Стандартная рекомендованная терапевтами доза составляет:

  • Для подростков и взрослых 500-600 единиц (15 мкг)/сутки
  • Для пожилых 800 единиц (20 мкг)/сутки

При этом максимальная допустимая дневная норма БАД (био активной добавки) не может превышать 4000 единиц (100 мкг). Если сомневаетесь, сколько нужно вам, лучше всего обратиться к терапевту. Он поможет рассчитать наиболее подходящую дозу, особенно есть вы беременны или кормите грудью.

Источники витамина D

Существует всего 3 основных источника витамина D: солнце, пища и активные добавки к пище или БАД. Давайте рассмотрим поближе каждый из них. 

  1. Солнце: наши тела могу использовать солнечные лучи (особенно ультрафиолет) для преобразования неактивной формы витамина D в активную D3. Но это происходит только в случае контакта с голой кожей.
    Но не стоит забывать, что:

    • В разных регионах мира разное время солнце достаточно активно для восполнения нами недостатка витамина D. Тем, кто живет ближе к экватору достаточно 10-15 минут на солнце в день, чтобы получить количество витамина D3, эквивалентного 15 000 единиц или 375 мкг добавок. В России, например, солнце активно только в летние месяцы плюс часть мая и сентября. Именно в этот период нужно всеми силами ловить лучи, чтобы более менее восполнить дефицит. Весной и осенью угол падения лучей недостаточен. Есть данные по количеству витамина D3, который можно получить летом в странах, расположенных примерно на одной широте с Россией. Тогда максимальная доза D3 за 30 минут на солнце может составить до 1000 единиц.

    • Ультрафиолетовые лучи опасны для кожи. Чтобы получить витамин D нужна голая кожа без защитного крема, не прикрытая тканью. А это риск.

    • Цвет кожи имеет значение. Чем темнее, тем менее эффективно организм переводит витамин D из неактивной формы в активную. Поэтому смуглым придется провести на солнце дольше.

    • Возраст влияет. К сожалению с возрастом организм все медленнее превращает неактивную форму D3 в активную

  2. Пища: хотя продукты животного происхождения, такие как молоко, яичные желтки и некоторые виды рыбы, содержат витамин D, они не предлагают его в количествах, достаточных для ежедневного удовлетворения рекомендуемых потребностей. Это также верно для растительных источников. 

  3. Добавки: в России мы можем получать витамин D с солнцем только 4-4,5 месяца, а в оставшиеся 8 стоит принимать специальные добавки, хотя бы циклами. За подходящей вам дозировкой обращайтесь к терапевту. 

Добавки с витамином D

В аптеках вы найдете как чистый витамин D3 в форме таблеток, жевательных таблеток или капель, так и БАДы кальций+D3. Если у вас нет дефицита кальция, если вы потребляете достаточно содержащих его продуктов, вероятно, вам стоит сделать выбор в пользу чистого D3.

Разницы между усвояемостью витамина в зависимостью от формы (жидкая или твердая) не выявлена. Поэтому просто выберите то, что считаете нужным.

D3 сегодня включен в большинство витаминных комплексов. Если вы уже принимаете мультивитамины, проверьте дозировку, чтобы не переборщить.

И последнее, важно помнить, что прием слишком большого количества витамина D в форме добавок может привести к поглощению чрезмерного количества кальция. В течение нескольких недель или месяцев это может привести к отложению кальция в артериях, тем самым укрепляя их. Это может увеличить риск сердечно-сосудистых проблем. Однако это касается только пищевых добавок. Интенсивное воздействие  солнечных лучей не продемонстрировало такого эффекта.