Gellert bathing history

The story dates back to the Middle Ages, when a certain hermit monk settled in the cave of Mount Gellert and discovered the healing power of the place. True to the 19 century, it was believed that healing is not so much water as sludge from mountain wastewater. And the name was appropriate, Sárosfürdő - mud baths. There was once a hospital, built in the 13 century by King András II of the Arpad dynasty for distinguished persons. Then, at the time of the Ottoman yoke, Turkish baths appeared here.

Sárosfürdő-story of the baths Gellert
Clinic Sárosfürdеч with mud baths

In the 19 century, the modest one-story bathhouse building was finally open to the public. And later, the Austrian emperor Franz Joseph ordered to build a building over the baths, similar to the royal palace. The construction lasted 6 years under the leadership of Hungarian architects Armin Hegedyush, Arthur Shebestien, Isidor Sterk.

And in the 1918 year, after the death of the emperor, in Budapest, an exquisite Secession-style palace (one of the modernist style) with marble columns, flowing sculptures, stained-glass windows, mosaic panels on the floor and luxurious basins from Zholnai were opened for visitors .

Retro shot of Gellert baths. The exact date could not be found

Unfortunately, during the Second World War the building was destroyed. As a result of the reconstruction of 2008, it was possible to almost completely restore the original appearance of the baths.

Interesting Facts about Gellert Baths

  1. For the entire existence of the Gellert baths were closed only once, when one of the pipes broke
  2. Retro photos of the baths can be viewed in the Hungarian House of Photography (Mai Manó Ház) on Nagymező, 20, by Shandor Pustay. The photo project is called “Miniszterek gatyában” (Ministers in swimsuits). Also these photos can be viewed on the website. hvg.hu.
  3. Luxury interiors baths repeatedly used for filming Hungarian and Hollywood movies. Thus, in Gellert, certain scenes of the experimental film “Cremaster” directed by Matthew Barney were filmed, as well as the fantastic film “Accumulator” by the Czech director Jan Sverak. And in the old German film 1936 of the year “Wo die Lerche singt” (“Where the Lark Sings”), based on Franz Lehard's operetta, Martha Eggert performs the song “On the Beautiful Blue Danube” to Strauss’s music in the bathhouse “Gellert”.
  4. In 1999, Polish artist Katarzyna Kozyra presented in Venice the infamous video installation “Male Bath”, filmed in the men's section of Gellert. For the sake of such a thing, the Warsaw artist penetrated there, making up under a man, with artificial stubble on his face and an attached silicone penis.
  5. Once in a hall with marble columns balls were arranged. For this pool covered with a special glass floor and danced on it all night long.

Thanks for the article

wonderful Natalia

@lebaiserdudragon!

Editing and layout by me 😉

Similar records

Weekly menu

Summary Menu for the weekDay 1Day 2Day 3Day 4Day 5Day 6Day 7 If you want to eat better and more varied, it makes sense to make a menu in advance. Plus the mass, starting with the fact that you will have less temptations to eat something harmful. Ready to try? I decided to triple a small experiment and began to make up the weekly menus. There were several goals. First, achieve complete control ...
Gellert Hotel and Baths, Budapest

Gellert or the most beautiful baths of Budapest

Synopsis Welcome to the baths GellertKak reach baths GellertPoseschenie baths GellertStoimost tickets Gellert thermal baths A stay in Budapest and do not look into the bath, the pride of Hungary - unforgivable oshibkaBudapesht is widely regarded as the thermal capital of Europe, because in the city are 123 thermal and 400 mineral springs, and also 27 bath. The title of the most beautiful ...

All you need to know about Vitamin D

Summary Recommended Vitamin D Dosages Vitamin D Sources Vitamin D Supplements Talk about vitamin D: who needs it, why, why it should be taken and in what form Vitamin D deficiency increases the risk of depression, cardiovascular diseases, type II diabetes, respiratory infections and problems with reproductive system. And this is not to mention the fact that vitamin D plays a very important role in ...

Vajdahunyad Castle

Summary The history of Vajdahunyad castleThe parts of Vajdahunyad castle Romanesque styleGothic style Renaissance Baroque How to get to Vajdahuniad castle Hours of Vajdahuniad castle and 2018 ticket prices The old castle in the city park, which is actually a little more than 100 years old. What is Vajdahunyad really? The famous Parade Avenue of Budapest ends with Heroes Square. Across the road from her begins a city park with a lake.…

Hungarian Parliament Building

Summary Construction history of the Hungarian Parliament Building Excursions to the Hungarian Parliament Building Prices of Hungarian Parliament Tickets Excursion schedules and visiting hours of the Hungarian Parliament Buda, Obud and Pest lived as three separate cities. Only in the 1873 year, when Hungary gained independence from Austria, it was decided to merge into a single capital. From 17 November 1873, the Budapest ...

История купален Геллерт

История берет начало в Средневековье, когда некий монах-отшельник поселился в пещере горы Геллерт и обнаружил целительную силу места. Правда до 19 века считалось, что целебной является не столько вода, сколько ил из сточных вод горы. И название было соответствующее, Sárosfürdő — грязевые ванны. Была на этом месте когда-то и лечебница, построенная в 13 веке королем Андрашем II из династии Арпадов для знатных особ. Затем, во времена османского ига, здесь появились турецкие бани.

Sárosfürdő-история купален Геллерт
Лечебница Sárosfürdő с грязевыми ваннами

В 19 веке скромное одноэтажное здание купален было наконец-то открыто для широкой публики. А позже, австрийский император Франц Иосиф приказал построить над купальнями здание, подобное королевскому дворцу. Строительство длилось 6 лет под руководством венгерских архитекторов Армина Хегедюша, Артура Шебештьена, Изидора Штерка.

И вот в 1918 году, уже после смерти императора, в Будапеште был открыт для посещений изысканный дворец-отель в стиле сецессион (одного из течений модерна) с мраморными колоннами, фонтанирующими скульптурами, витражными окнами, мозаичным панно на полу и роскошными бассейнами из пирогранита Жолнаи.

Ретро снимок купален Геллерт. Точной даты найти не удалось

К сожалению, во время Второй Мировой войны здание было разрушено. В результате реконструкции 2008 года удалось практически полностью восстановить первоначальный вид купален.

Интересные факты о купальнях Геллерт

  1. За все время существования купальни Геллерт были закрыты только однажды, когда разорвалась одна из труб
  2. Ретро фотографии купален можно посмотреть в Венгерском Доме фотографии (Mai Manó Ház) на улице Nagymező, 20, автор – Шандор Пустай. Фотопроектназывается «Miniszterek gatyában» (Министры в купальниках). Также эти фотографии можно посмотреть на сайте hvg.hu.
  3. Роскошные интерьеры купален неоднократно использовался для съемок венгерских и голливудских фильмов. Так, в Геллерте снимались отдельные сцены экспериментального фильма «Кремастер» режиссера Мэтью Барни, а также фантастический фильм «Аккумулятор» чешского режиссера Яна Сверака. И еще в старом немецком фильме 1936 года «Wo die Lerche singt» (“Там, где поет жаворонок») по оперетте Франца Легара Марта Эггерт исполняет в купальне «Геллерт» песню «На прекрасном голубом Дунае» на музыку Штрауса.
  4. В 1999 году польская художница Катажина Козыра представила в Венеции скандально известную видеоинсталляцию «Мужская баня», отснятую в мужском отделении Геллерта. Ради такого дела Варшавская художница проникла туда, загримировавшись под мужчину, с искусственной щетиной на лице и прикрепленным силиконовым пенисом.
  5. Когда-то в зале с мраморными колоннами устраивались балы. Для этого бассейн накрывали специальным стеклянным полом и танцевали на нем всю ночь напролет.

За статью благодарить

замечательную Наталью

 @lebaiserdudragon!

Редактура и верстка by me 😉

Похожие записи

Еженедельное меню

Краткое содержание Меню на неделюДень 1День 2День 3День 4День 5День 6День 7 Если хотите питаться качественнее и разнообразнее, есть смысл составлять заранее меню. Плюсов масса, начиная с того, что у вас будет меньше соблазнов съесть что-то вредное. Готовы попробовать?Я решила утроить небольшой эксперимент и начала составлять еженедельные меню. Целей было несколько. Во-первых, добиться полного контроля…
Отель и купальни Геллерт, Будапешт

Геллерт или самые красивые купальни Будапешта

Краткое содержание Добро пожаловать в купальни ГеллертКак добраться до купален ГеллертПосещение купален ГеллертСтоимость билетов в купальни Геллерт Побывать в Будапеште и не заглянуть в купальни, гордость Венгрии – непростительная ошибкаБудапешт по праву считается термальной столицей Европы, ведь на территории города находятся 123 термальных и 400 минеральных источников, а также 27 купален. Звание самой красивой по…

Все, что вам нужно знать про Витамин D

Краткое содержание Рекомендованные дозы витамина DИсточники витамина DДобавки с витамином DИтоги Поговорим про витамин D: кому он нужен, зачем, почему его стоит принимать и в каком видеНедостаток витамина D повышает риск возникновения депрессий, сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний, диабета II типа, респираторных инфекций и проблем с репродуктивной системой. И это не говоря о том, что витамин D играет очень важную роль в…

Замок Вайдахуняд

Краткое содержание История замка ВайдахунядЧасти замка ВайдахунядРоманский стильГотический стильРенессансБароккоКак добраться до замка ВайдахунядЧасы работы замка Вайдахуняд и цены на билеты 2018 Старинный замок в городском парке, которому на самом деле чуть больше 100 лет. Что такое Вайдахуняд на самом деле?Знаменитый парадный проспект Будапешта заканчивается Площадью Героев. Через дорогу от нее начинается городской парк с озером.…

Здание венгерского парламента

Краткое содержание История строительства здания Парламента ВенгрииЭкскурсии в здание Венгерского парламентаЦены на билеты в Парламент ВенгрииРасписание экскурсий и часы посещения Парламента Венгрии Буда, Обуда и Пешт жили как три самостоятельных города. Только в 1873 году, когда Венгрия получила независимость от Австрии, было принято решение об объединении в единую столицу. С 17 ноября 1873 года Будапешт…