Crete's oldest city: Chania

The picturesque Chania is the second largest city of Crete after Heraklion. Population around 60 000 residents. It is believed that the modern city was built on the site of Minoan Cydonia. This is confirmed by the results of excavations on the hill of Castelli. The history of Chania Chania owes its existence to the Venetians, who in the 13 century began the construction of a city in the bay. For the current needs built a port with a lighthouse and ship ...

Читать дальшеCrete's oldest city: Chania

Crete's oldest cities: Rethymnon

Fortezza. Main gate

The third largest city of Crete is named Rethymnon and is located between Heraklion and Chania. Population 30 000 people. The architecture of the city is somewhat different from its neighbors. Mostly noble Greeks lived in Rethymnon, so the buildings were built in the style of the Greek Renaissance with elements of the Ottoman era. History Rethymnon Old Town is well preserved. It occupies a small area near the coast. Streets ...

Читать дальшеCrete's oldest cities: Rethymnon

Famous beaches of Crete: Balos

The famous beach of Balos. Tells the potionsquirrel.ru

Chania is famous not only for canyons. This prefecture has one of the most visited and famous pink sand beaches on the island. There are two ways to reach Balos. The first is by sea. The ship departs from the pier in the town of Kisamos and sails along the route Kisamos - Fr. Gramvousa - Balos - Kisamos. You can see the famous fortress, enjoy ...

Читать дальшеFamous beaches of Crete: Balos

Holidays in Crete. Mount Juhta

Mountain Yukhta, Crete. View of the valley

In ancient times, the mountain was considered sacred, because from afar resembled a human profile, or rather the face of the resting god Zeus. Yukhta Mountain is small, just 811 meters, but it is very significant for the inhabitants of Crete. At the foot, olive groves and vineyards are spread, from the north it is adjoined by a beautiful fertile valley, from the east - Sylamian gorge, and from the west ...

Читать дальшеHolidays in Crete. Mount Juhta

Hiking in Crete. The gorge of St. Nicholas and the forest Rouvas

One of the most beautiful hiking routes in Crete runs through the Gafaris gorge, also known as Rouvas or the gorge of St. Nicholas. The gorge of St. Nicholas, Gafaris or Rouvas is surrounded by the peaks of Ambelakia from the east and Samari from the west. This is the most famous gorge of central Crete. You find yourself in a unique ecosystem with a rich flora and fauna, small canyons, interesting geological formations ...

Читать дальшеHiking in Crete. The gorge of St. Nicholas and the forest Rouvas

The capital of Crete is Heraklion

To this day, three cities, preserved by the Venetians, have survived. These are Heraklion, Rethymnon and Chania. Everyone has their own unique individuality. Today I will tell you about the capital of Crete Heraklion. Heraklion is the place from which it is best to begin exploring the island. The museums have wonderful expositions telling about the history, customs, culture and peculiarities of the nature of Crete. The city has survived ...

Читать дальшеThe capital of Crete is Heraklion

How to choose a restaurant in Crete

It is impossible to visit Crete and not visit restaurants or taverns. Restaurants in Crete are at every turn. Wherever you look, home cooking, family taverns and pubs for guests from England who serve fish and chips with beer. For gourmets, there are Thai and Chinese restaurants. In the abundance of trattoria with breathtaking pasta and pizza is not worse than ...

Читать дальшеHow to choose a restaurant in Crete

Cretan cuisine. What to try

If you believe the myths, Zeus was born and buried in Crete. Crete is an island that took my heart from the very first minutes. I want to go back there for Greek hospitality, clear sea, warm sun, wonderful food and incredible landscapes. Crete is amazing. Every time there are all new places, new dishes and new experiences. Cretan cuisine Cretan cuisine is different ...

Читать дальшеCretan cuisine. What to try

Старейшие города Крита: Ханья

Живописная Ханья – второй по величине после Ираклиона город Крита. Население около 60 000 жителей. Считается, что современный город построен на месте минойской Сидонии. Это подтверждают результаты раскопок на холме Кастелли. История Ханьи Ханья обязана своим существование венецианцам, которые в 13 веке начали строительство города в заливе. Для текущих нужд построили порт с маяком и корабельными …

Читать дальшеСтарейшие города Крита: Ханья

Старейшие города Крита: Ретимно

Фортецца. Главные ворота

Третий по величине город Крита носит имя Ретимно и располагается между Ираклионом и Ханьей. Население 30 000 человек. Архитектура города несколько отличается от соседей. В Ретимно жили в основном знатные греки, поэтому здания построены в стиле греческого ренессанса с элементами Оттоманской эпохи. История Ретимно Старый город неплохо сохранился. Он занимает небольшую территорию неподалеку от побережья. Улочки …

Читать дальшеСтарейшие города Крита: Ретимно

Знаменитые пляжи Крита: Балос

Знаменитый пляж Балос. Рассказывает potionsquirrel.ru

Ханья славится не только каньонами. В этой префектуре находится один из самых посещаемых и известных на острове пляжей с розовым песком.До Балоса можно добраться двумя способами. Первый – по морю. Корабль отходит от пристани в городке Кисамос и плывет по маршруту Кисамос – о. Грамвуса – Балос – Кисамос. Вы сможете увидеть знаменитую крепость, насладиться …

Читать дальшеЗнаменитые пляжи Крита: Балос

Каникулы на Крите. Гора Юхта

Гора Юхта, Крит. Вид на долину

В древние времена гора считалась священной, потому что издалека напоминала человеческий профиль, а точнее лицо покоящегося бога Зевса. Гора Юхта небольшая, всего 811 метров, но она весьма значима для жителей Крита. У подножья раскинулись оливковые рощи и виноградники, с севера к ней примыкает прекрасная плодородная долина, с востока – Силамианское ущелье, а с запада река …

Читать дальшеКаникулы на Крите. Гора Юхта

Пешие походы на Крите. Ущелье святого Николая и лес Рувас

Один из самых красивых пеших маршрутов на Крите пролегает по ущелью Гафарис, он же Рувас или ущелье Святого Николая. Ущелье Святого Николая, Гафарис или Рувас окружено пиками Амбелакия с востока и Самари с запада. Это самое известное ущелье центрального Крита. Вы попадаете в уникальную экосистему с богатейшей флорой и фауной, небольшими каньонами, интересными геологическими формациями …

Читать дальшеПешие походы на Крите. Ущелье святого Николая и лес Рувас

Столица Крита Ираклион

До наших дней сохранились три города, заложенных еще венецианцами. Это Ираклион, Ретимно и Ханья. У каждого есть своя неповторимая индивидуальность. Сегодня я расскажу вам о столице Крита Ираклионе.Ираклион – это место, с которого лучше всего начинать знакомство с островом. В музеях прекрасные экспозиции, рассказывающие об истории, обычаях, культуре и особенностях природы Крита. В городе сохранилось …

Читать дальшеСтолица Крита Ираклион

Как выбрать ресторан на Крите

Побывать на Крите и не посетить рестораны или таверны невозможно.Рестораны на Крите на каждом шагу. Куда не глянь, везде домашняя кухня, семейные таверны и пабы для гостей из Англии, которым подавай «фиш энд чипс» с пивом. Для гурманов найдутся тайские и китайские рестораны. В изобилии траттории с умопомрачительной пастой и пиццей не хуже, чем в …

Читать дальшеКак выбрать ресторан на Крите

Критская кухня. Что попробовать

Если верить мифам, Зевс был рожден и похоронен на Крите. Крит – это остров, который забрал мое сердце с самых первых минут. Туда хочется возвращаться за греческим гостеприимством, чистым морем, теплым солнцем, замечательной едой и невероятными пейзажами. Крит удивителен. Каждый раз находятся все новые места, новые блюда и новые впечатления. Критская кухня Критская кухня отличается …

Читать дальшеКритская кухня. Что попробовать